The 6 Things To Know About Star Safety Ratings Page 7

April 4, 2011
2011 Maserati Quattroporte GT S Awards Edition

2011 Maserati Quattroporte GT S Awards Edition

Enlarge Photo

6) Shopping for a luxury vehicle or sports car? It probably hasn't been rated.

The federal government plans to test just 55 models this year, out of hundreds on the market. And it emphasizes those that sell in high numbers. What does that mean? You're certainly not going to see crash-test results for low-volume vehicles like the Mercedes-Benz CL-Class, the Maserati Quattroporte, or the Mazda RX-8.

"We test the most popular model vehicles," said Ron Medford, NHTSA deputy administrator, in a video about the new system. "We estimate that about 80 percent of the market is commonly tested with our program."

The Car Connection
See the winners »
The Car Connection
Commenting is closed for this article
Ratings and Reviews
Rate and review your car for The Car Connection
Review your car
The Car Connection Daily Headlines
I agree to receive emails from the site. I can withdraw my consent at any time by unsubscribing.
Thank you! Please check your email for confirmation.