Automotive Hall of Fame Adds Eight Inductees

October 3, 2008
2008 Audi A4 TDI concept e

2008 Audi A4 TDI concept e

The Automotive Hall of Fame, located in Dearborn, Michigan, yesterday inducted eight new individuals (five posthumously) into its ranks. These individuals are being honored for their contributions to racing, design, manufacturing, the aftermarket, or management. The list of inductees is as follows: Paul V. Galvin, Mort Schwartz, Jack Telnack, Robert W. Galvin, Phil Hill, Bob Irvin, William Metzger, and John Willys. The organization is the only "industry-wide means to honor the men and women of the global motor and related industries."

Robert W. Galvin, born in 1922, is most notable for expanding Motorola's product range as well as heading up Motorola's Six Sigma quality management process. He is former chairman, CEO, and president of Motorola.

Mort Schwartz, born in 1934, founded the Global Automotive Aftermarket Symposium and is considered by many to be the automotive aftermarket's greatest ambassador.

John J. "Jack" Telnack (born in 1937), as former head of design at Ford, was the man responsible for the game-changing '86 Ford Taurus as well as Ford's "Aero Look" and "New Edge" design philosophies.

Paul V. Galvin (1895-1959) was noted for the first commercial application of radios in autos, and was the co-founder of Motorola.

The recently departed and much celebrated Phil Hill (1927-2008) was the first American--and the only American-born--race car driver to win the Formula 1 World Drivers Championship in 1961. He was also a three-time winner of the 24 Hours of LeMans.

Bob Irvin (1933-1980) was a famed automotive journalist who reported for UPI, Detroit News, and Automotive News.

William E. Metzger (1868-1933) stood significantly as America's first car dealer, founded Detroit's E-M-F Motor Company, and was a notable automotive pioneer and promoter.

John North Willys (1873-1935) took his place in automotive history as automotive pioneer and successful businessman, having founded the famed Willys-Overland and Willys-Knight auto companies.

The Hall of Fame honors four Young Leaders, individuals that it believes stand for the next generation of leadership in the industry. These are Lisa Drake - Chief Enginer for Global Hybrid Strategy and Applications at Ford, Trang D. Hamm - President and General Manager, Smart Center Portland and Smart Center Denver,  Mathew E. Hargett - Chief Engineer, Honda R&D Americas, and David M. Nowicki - Manager of Advance Program Engineering at Ford.

Rudolf Diesel, 18th-century inventor of the compression-ignition engine that makes efficiency wonders like Audi's A4 TDI concept e possible, was honored by the Automotive Hall of Fame in 1978. They note that "as early as 1912, he encouraged design engineers to consider air pollution and limited natural resources in their developmental work."--Colin Mathews

The Car Connection
See the winners »
The Car Connection
Commenting is closed for this article
Ratings and Reviews
Rate and review your car for The Car Connection
Review your car
The Car Connection Daily Headlines
I agree to receive emails from The Car Connection. I understand that I can unsubscribe at any time. Privacy Policy.
Thank you! Please check your email for confirmation.