Racing Results: 10/20/2003

October 20, 2003


• 2003 Formula 1 World Drivers Champion – Michael Schumacher (6X; Schumacher has surpassed Juan Manuel Fangio in F1 World Drivers Championships)

• 2003 Formula 1 Manufacturers Champion – Ferrari


10/19 Subway 500, Martinsville Speedway, Martinsville, VA (1/2-mi. oval; 500 laps)

Jeff Gordon completed a season sweep of the two Cup races at Martinsville. The victory was the 63rd win of Gordon’s career but only his second of the season. The four-time series champion led 311 laps in the #24 DuPont Refinishes Chevrolet Monte Carlo. Jimmie Johnson, Gordon’s Hendrick Motorsports teammate, started 26th and lost more ground when he spun out early in the race, but came back to finish second in the #48 Lowe’s Home Improvement Chevrolet. It was a typical short-track race, with plenty of bumping and banging that produced 15 caution flags and a record 117 laps run under yellow. As he did in his victory here in April, Gordon started from the pole, dominated early, struggled for a while, then came back even stronger to lead the final 205 laps, pulling away on each of a series of restarts and staying out of trouble.

Johnson trailed Gordon across the finish line by 1.036-seconds. Tony Stewart, finished third in the #20 Home Depot/Joe Gibbs Racing Chevrolet, just ahead of Dale Earnhardt Jr.’s #8 Budweiser/Dale Earnhardt Inc. Chevy, who appeared to have the second best car through most of the race. Ryan Newman’s #12 AllTel/Penske Racing South Dodge Intrepid rounded out the top five. Points leader Matt Kenseth, who came into the race with a 267-point margin over Kevin Harvick and 324 over Earnhardt, finished 13th and saw his lead over Harvick cut to 240 points with four races remaining, as Harvick’s #29 GM Goodwrench Service/Richard Childress Racing Chevrolet finished 7th to Kenseth’s #17 DeWalt Power Tools/Roush Racing Ford’s 13th place finish.

Next race: 10/26 Bass Pro Shops MBNA 500, Atlanta Motor Speedway, Hampton, GA (1.54-mi. oval; 12:00 p.m. ET; NBC)


10/18 Sam’s Town 250 benefiting St. Jude, Memphis Motorsports Park, Millington, TN (0.75-mi. oval; 250 laps)

Bobby Hamilton Jr. picked up his third Busch series win of the season when his 325 U.S. Marines Ford Taurus nudged past Johnny Sauter in Richard Childress Racing’s #21 Payday Chevrolet with three laps to go Saturday and held on to win. After Hamilton took the lead, Jason Keller’s #57 Albertson’s/ppc Racing Ford also managed to get past Sauter for second place. Sauter finished third. Ron Hornaday’s #2 ACDelco/Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet led 11 laps midway through the race and finished fourth. Brian Vickers’#5 GMAC/Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet led on two occasions and finished fifth. Vickers led 152 laps to claim the 10-point bonus. The Busch championship standings tightened up among the top five drivers with four races to go. Hamilton scored his third win of the season, tying him for the most in the series. Vickers’ finish moved him to first place in the standings, ahead of David Green, in the #37 Timber Wolf Pontiac, who came into the race leading Vickers by 36 points but finished 19th and now trails Vickers by 23. Keller moved up to third, with Hornaday and Riggs following. Only 44 points separates Vickers and Riggs.

Next race: 10/25 Aaron’s 312, Atlanta Motor Speedway, Hampton, GA (1.54-mi. oval; 1:00 p.m. ET; TNT)


10/18 Advance Auto Parts 200, Martinsville Speedway, Martinsville, VA (1/2-mi. oval; 200 laps; 72.069 mph avg. speed)

Jon Wood held off Roush Racing teammate Carl Edwards’ #99 Superchips Ford to win the NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series race at Martinsville. It was the second career victory for Wood, driver of the #50 Graham for President/Roush Racing Ford. Dennis Setzer, in the #46 Acxiom /Computer Associates Chevrolet, trying to win for the third straight time at Martinsville, led 118 laps but was bumped aside by Wood on lap 176. Edwards followed his teammate past Setzer and went after Wood. Edwards, who started from the pole, had two shots at Wood on restarts in the last 15 laps. He tried to nudge his teammate aside but couldn't get by. Setzer wound up third, followed by Rick Crawford’s #14 Circle Bar Motel/RV Park Ford, and Bobby Hamilton’s #4 Square D Dodge. Series leader Brendan Gaughan, in the #62 Orleans Hotel Dodge, finished 12th but saw his margin over Travis Kvapil increase from 30 to 45 points with two races left in the season. Kvapil’s #16 IWX Motor Freight Chevrolet was derailed by a late crash and finished 16th.

Next race: 10/31 Chevy Silverado 150, Phoenix International Raceway, Avondale, AZ (1.0-mi. oval; 5:30 p.m. ET; SPEED)

• 2003 NASCAR Busch Series Manufacturers Champion – Dodge (2X)


Next race: 10/26 ACDelco Las Vegas NHRA Nationals, the Strip at Las Vegas Motor Speedway, Las Vegas, NV (9:00 p.m. ET; ESPN2)

• 2003 NHRA POWERade Top Fuel Champion – Larry Dixon

• 2003 NHRA POWERade Pro Stock Champion – Greg Anderson


10/18 Delta Bowl Speedway, Tunica, MS (30 laps)

Greg Hodnett completed a Delta Bowl sweep, winning the Preliminary Feature, Dash, and the A-Main. In the A-Main, Greg Hodnett’s #12 Apple won by a half straightaway over Steve “The King of the Outlaws” Kinser in the #11 Quaker State machine, with Donny Schatz’s #15 car 3rd, Sammy Swindell 4th in the #1 Roth, and Danny Lasoski’s #20 Stewart/J.D. Byrider Eagle 5th.

Next race: 10/25 Lone Star Classic, Houston Raceway Park, Baytown, TX



• 2003 IRL IndyCar Series Drivers Champion – Scott Dixon, Team Target Chip Ganassi Racing

• 2003 IRL IndyCar Series Manufacturers Champion – Toyota

Next race: 2/29/04 Toyota Indy 300, Homestead-Miami Speedway, Homestead, FL (1.5-mi. oval; 200 laps; 300-mi. race distance; broadcast time TBA; ESPN)


Next race: 10/26 Lexmark Indy 300, Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia (2.795-mi. street course; 12:00 a.m. ET; SPEED live)

The Car Connection
See the winners »
The Car Connection
Commenting is closed for this article
Ratings and Reviews
Rate and review your car for The Car Connection
Review your car
The Car Connection Daily Headlines
I agree to receive emails from the site. I can withdraw my consent at any time by unsubscribing.
Thank you! Please check your email for confirmation.