Racing Results: 10/13/2003

October 13, 2003


Next Race: 10/12 Japanese Grand Prix, Suzuka International Racing Course, Suzuka, Japan (3.64-mi. road course; 53 laps; 192.986-mi. race distance; 1:00 a.m. ET; SPEED Live)


10/11 UAW-GM Quality 500, Lowe’s Motor Speedway, Concord, NC (1.5-mi quad-oval; 334 laps)

Tony Stewart had the most dominant car at the UAW-GM Quality 500 at Lowe’s Motor Speedway but still had to run down Ryan Newman over the final stretch to score his second win of the season. Newman, the pole-sitter and hottest driver in the series with eight victories this year, made an early pit stop with a vibration in the #12 AllTel/Penske Racing South Dodge Intrepid. When the rest of the field had to make their stops much later, Newman inherited the lead from Stewart. With an eight-second lead when Stewart got back on the track after his stop, Stewart had only 36 laps to run him down. Four fresh tires made the difference, as Stewart was faster and chipped away at Newman’s lead. Stewart pulled alongside Newman with seven laps to go, then passed him for the lead. He was in the clear from there, piloting the #20 Home Depot/Joe Gibbs Racing Chevrolet to an easy win over Newman. Jimmie Johnson, trying to become the first driver in track history to win all three events here in the same year, finished third in the #48 Lowe’s Home Improvement/Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet, followed by Bill Elliott in the #9 Dodge Dealers/Evernham Motorsports Dodge in fourth, and Jeff Gordon’s #24 DuPont Refinishes/ Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet rounding out the top five. Winston Cup points leader Matt Kenseth finished eighth to gain a little ground in his title chase. Kenseth, who lost 177 points the previous two weeks, has a 267-point advantage over Kevin Harvick with five races remaining. The points battle got even hotter when Kenseth’s #17 DeWalt Power Tools/Roush Racing Ford and Harvick’s #29 GM Goodwrench Service/Richard Childress Racing Chevrolet bumped on the track coming out of Turn 2 about a third of the way into the race. The two were running side by side and Harvick, running on the high side of the track, wouldn’t budge when Kenseth tried to pass. They made slight contact and Kenseth had to let off the gas to save his car, falling back behind his closest rival. Kenseth later had power steering problems that forced him to make several stops under caution for repair, but battled back for his 23rd top-ten finish of the season, as Harvick finished 10th.

Next Race: 10/19 Subway 500, Martinsville Speedway, Martinsville, VA (12:00 p.m. ET; NBC)


10/11 Little Trees 300, Lowe’s Motor Speedway, Concord, NC (1.5-mi quad-oval; 200 laps)

Greg Biffle won the rain-postponed Busch Series race on Saturday with the season’s largest margin of victory. Scheduled for Friday night, the race was delayed by bad weather. So it started eight hours before the Cup race, and Biffle was one of 11 drivers entered in both. Biffle, last season’s Busch champion, beat Michael Waltrip’s # 99 Aaron’s Chevrolet to the finish by 12.628 seconds in Evans Motorsports' #7 Kleenex/Winn-Dixie Chevrolet. It was Busch’s 10th career win, and first since August, 2002. Mike Bliss’ #20 Rockwell Automation Chevy finished third, Brian Vickers’#5 GMAC/Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet fourth, and Jamie McMurray’s #240 Havoline Dodge was fifth. Everyone in the top five except Bliss was scheduled to run in the Cup event, including Vickers, who was to make his Winston Cup debut. Series points leader David Green in the #37 Timber Wolf Pontiac was sixth and holds a 36-point advantage over Vickers with five of 34 races remaining. Pole winner Kevin Harvick, who shares driving duties with Johnny Sauter in Richard Childress Racing's #21 Payday team, finished ninth. The #21 team holds a 156-point advantage in the chase for the series’ car owner championship.

Next Race: 10/18 Sam’s Town 250 benefiting St. Jude, Memphis Motorsports Park, Millington, TN (0.75-mi. oval; 3:00 p.m. ET; TNT)


10/11 Silverado 350, Texas Motor Speedway, Ft. Worth, TX (1.5-mi. oval; 146 laps; 122.727 mph avg. speed)

Brendan Gaughan won his fourth consecutive race at Texas Motor Speedway to extend his championship lead over second-place Travis Kvapil. Gaughan, in the #62 Orleans Hotel Dodge, overcame the handicap of a rear-of-the-field start — the penalty for a post-practice engine change. Leading three times for 60 laps, Gaughan took the lead for good on lap 104, passing Rick Crawford’s #14 Circle Bar Motel/RV Park Ford off Turn 2. The victory, Gaughan’s sixth win of the season and eighth of his career, extended his season points lead from 20 to 30 points over Kvapil with three races left. Half of Gaughan’s eight career wins are at the Ft. Worth, Texas track. Kvapil, also a rear starter after a happy hour accident damaged his #16 IWX Motor Freight Chevrolet beyond repair, brought his backup mount to second at lap 133, Kvapil’s 18th consecutive top-ten performance. Ted Musgrave, third in the championship standings, finished third in the #1 Mopar Performance/Ultra Motorsports Dodge to fall 73 behind Gaughan. Carl Edwards was fourth in the #99 Superchips/Roush Racing Ford with pole winner Andy Houston fifth in the #2 Team ASE Racing/Carquest Dodge.

Next Race: 10/18 Advance Auto Parts 200, Martinsville Speedway, Martinsville, VA (12:30 p.m. ET; SPEED)

• 2003 NASCAR Busch Series Manufacturers Champion – Dodge (2X)

NHRA POWERade CHAMPIONSHIP DRAG RACING 10/12 O’Reilly Fall Nationals presented by Castrol Syntec, Texas Motorplex, Ennis, TX Kenny Bernstein, and John Force won Top Fuel and Funny Car respectively, while Pro Stock’s Greg Anderson and Top Fuel’s Larry Dixon clinched their respective POWERade titles. Anderson also added his 10th event win of the year.

Top Fuel: Bernstein scored his 37th career Top Fuel win and 67th overall with a 4.514-second E.T. at 327.86 mph in the Budweiser King dragster, to Scott Kalitta’s tire-smoking 8.685, 84.90 in his Jesse James dragster. Larry Dixon, in the Miller Lite/Don Prudhomme Racing dragster, clinched his second consecutive POWERade championship with a second round victory over Darrell Russell.

The Car Connection
See the winners »
The Car Connection
Commenting is closed for this article
Ratings and Reviews
Rate and review your car for The Car Connection
Review your car
The Car Connection Daily Headlines
I agree to receive emails from the site. I can withdraw my consent at any time by unsubscribing.
Thank you! Please check your email for confirmation.