Racing Results: 8/25/2003 Page 2

August 25, 2003


Next Race: 9/1 Mac Tools U.S. Nationals, Indianapolis Raceway, Park, Clermont, IN (Final Eliminations --8:00 p.m. ET; ESPN)


8/23 Feature Race, Grays Harbor Raceway Park, Elma, WA (3/10-Mi. Oval) -- Jason Meyers, in the #7 VMAC Maxim, picked up where Joey Saldana’s #17 Eagle Raceway Maxim left off for the second straight race on his way to completing his first O’Reilly World of Outlaws Series double-feature sweep. Saldana started on the pole and led the first 36 laps before his flat right rear tire gave Meyers first place. Meyers held off standings leader Steve Kinser ‘s #11 Quaker State Maxim to win his third “A” Feature of the year. Paul McMahan was 3rd, followed by Jason Sides, and Daryn Pittman in 5th.

Next Race: 8/31 Harvest Classic Finals, Calistoga Speedway, Calistoga, CA (Semi-banked, 1/2-Mi. Oval)


8/24 Nazareth Indy 225, Nazareth Speedway, Nazareth, PA (1-Mi. Oval; 225 Laps; 200-Mi. Race Distance) -- Helio Castroneves became the IRL IndyCar Series points leader with this win. Castroneves, in the # 3 Marlboro Team Penske Dallara-Toyota, led the final 173 laps and beat two-time IndyCar Series champion Sam Hornish Jr. by .1697 of a second. Bryan Herta, in the #27 Archipelego/Motorola Dallara-Honda, finished third. Castroneves and his Marlboro Team Penske teammate Gil de Ferran are now first and second in the point standings, respectively. Castroneves, who earned two bonus points for leading the most laps, has 429 points, while de Ferran, who finished fourth in the race, has 404. Tony Kanaan entered the race on top of the point standings with an eight-point lead over Castroneves, but on Lap 120, the #10 Target Chip Ganassi Racing Panoz G Force-Toyota of Tomas Scheckter touched the right rear of Kanaan’s #11 Team 7-Eleven Dallara-Honda. Both cars made contact with the outside retaining wall in Turn 2 ending their day. Kanaan finished 18th, while Scheckter finished 19th. Kanaan fell to third in the point standings and now has 397 points, 32 behind leader Castroneves. Castroneves’ victory, his second of the season and fifth of his IndyCar Series career, was the 10th of the season for Toyota and the brand clinched the 2003 IRL IndyCar Series Manufacturer’s Championship. Next Race: 9/7 Delphi Indy 300, Chicagoland Speedway, Joliet, IL (1.5-Mi. D-shaped Oval; 1:00 p.m. ET: ABC Live)


8/24 Molson Indy Montreal, Circuit Gilles Villeneuve, Montreal, Canada (2.709-Mi. Road Course; 75 Laps) Michel Jourdain Jr. utilized a wise race strategy and lightning-quick pit work from his Gigante Team Rahal Ford-Cosworth/Lola crew to win. Jourdain edged Patrick Racing's Oriol Servia across the finish line by 1.277 seconds to collect his second career victory in the Series. Quebec native Patrick Carpentier in the Players/ Forsythe Racing Ford-Cosworth/Lola thrilled the partisan crowd by placing third. Points leader Paul Tracy finished sixth after he ran out of fuel on the final lap and points runner up Bruno Junqueira finished out of the points. Subsequently Jourdain gained valuable points in the championship battle pulling within seven points of Junqueira and within 35 points of Tracy. Next Race: 8/31 Centrex Financial Grand Prix of Denver, Denver, CO (3:00 p.m. ET; SPEED Live)


8/24 Road America 500 presented by the Chicago Tribune, Road America, Elkhart Lake, WI (79 Laps; 2:46:21.273 Timed Event; 4.048-Mile Road Course) -- JJ Lehto and Johnny Herbert scored their second ALMS win of the season driving the #3 ADT Champion Racing Audi R8 to a one-lap win. Herbert took the lead on lap 29 by passing the polesitting Infineon Team Joest Audi R8 of Marco Werner, and never lost the lead again. Andy Wallace and Chris Dyson finished second overall and won the LMP 675 class in the #5 Dyson Racing Lola EX257-MG, while Jan Magnussen made a last-lap pass of Corvette driver Johnny O'Connell to win the GTS class for the #80 Prodrive Ferrari 550 Maranello team with co-driver David Brabham. Johnny Mowlem and Craig Stanto, driving the #24 Michael Petersen-White Lightning Porsche 911 GT3 RS, scored its first-ever win in the ALMS, taking GT class honors. Next Race: 9/7 Monterey Sports Car Championships, Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca, Monterey, CA


8/24 Road America, Elkhart Lake, WI (25 Laps; 112.481MPH Ave. Speed) -- Scott Pruett continued his dominating run toward his third Trans-Am Series for the BFGoodrich Tires Cup championship, recording his sixth victory the season. In the process, the driver of the #7 Jaguar R Performance XKR allowed Jaguar to clinch its third Manufacturers’ Championship. The carmaker previously won the manufacturers title in 1978 and 2001. Johnny Miller finished second in the #64 Eaton Cutler-Hammer Jaguar XKR, ahead of Michael Lewis’ #12 Westward Tools/The Crank Jaguar XKR. Justin Bell, making his first start this season in the #59 Ultama Swimwear Chevrolet Corvette, drove through the field to finish fourth, followed by Stu Hayner, who battled a severe vibration throughout the event, to finish 5th in the No. 2 GMAC Commercial Finance/Trenton Forging Corvette. Pruett took the lead at the start, and never gave it up during the race, which ended under caution. Next Race: 8/31 Centrex Financial Grand Prix of Denver, Denver, CO (Delayed Broadcast; 1:30 p.m. ET; SPEED)


8/24 Sunoco World Nationals, Norwalk Raceway Park, Norwalk, OH – TOP FUEL: Bruce

Litton, in the Lucas Oil Dragster, defeated Clay Millican’s Werner Enterprises/104+ Octane Boost entry. Litton ran a 4.938, 294.50 mph to win in the first 16-car field in IHRA history. Litton is the only driver to beat defending world champion Clay Millican this year and did it again. PRO MODIFIED: Thomas Patterson qualified in the lower half

of the field but defeated Fred Hahn in round one, Pat Moore round two and Von Smith in the semis before defeating Quain Stott, 6.378 to 6.497 for the event win. Funny Car: In the quickest Funny Car field in IHRA history, Jim Sickles defeated John Foster in round one with a 5.779 E.T. Sickles was unopposed in round two, ran the best times of the field in round three at 5.769, 246.17, then met three-time world champion Von Smith in the final round, beating him with a 5.828 to 5.880. PRO STOCK: Doug Kirk defeated John Bartunek first round with a 6.616 E.T. He then

The Car Connection
See the winners »
The Car Connection
Commenting is closed for this article
Ratings and Reviews
Rate and review your car for The Car Connection
Review your car
The Car Connection Daily Headlines
I agree to receive emails from the site. I can withdraw my consent at any time by unsubscribing.
Thank you! Please check your email for confirmation.