2010 Mercedes-Benz CLS Class vs. Its Competition

2009 Mercedes-Benz CLS Class
Martin Padgett Martin Padgett Editorial Director

Of the growing ranks of "four-door coupes," the 2010 Mercedes-Benz CLS may have the most to fear from the 2010 Jaguar XJ.

Ditching its classicist style completely, the new XJ wears dramatic lines of its own and gets a stunning high-tech interior straight out of a high-end hotel.

Due to be replaced in 2011, the Infiniti M sedans may seem a little less opulent than the CLS, but they have panache all the same, along with copious V-8 horsepower.

The Lexus LS sports V-8 power, a creamy ride, and almost unbelievable levels of refinement, matched with almost impersonal driving feel.

2009 Mercedes-Benz CLS Class2010 Mercedes-Benz CLS Class
Browse Used Listings
2011 Infiniti M 56 2011 INFINITI M
Browse Used Listings
2008 Jaguar XJ XJ82008 Jaguar XJ
Browse Used Listings
Quick Specs
The 2010 Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class is a drama queen of the nicest kind-only visibility and backseat space suffer in its presence.
The 2011 Infiniti M pairs beauty with a beastly V-8 engine—and at last, Infiniti makes its marque in a class full of winners.
The 2008 Jaguar XJ has a rich interior, good fuel economy, and a light touch, but its dowdy exterior is a major letdown.
MSRP From  
Gas Mileage  
12 MPG City / 21 MPG Hwy16 MPG City / 26 MPG Hwy15 MPG City / 25 MPG Hwy
Gas V8Gas V6Gas V8
EPA Class  
Compact4-door Large CarLarge
Style Name  
4-Door Sedan CLS 5504-Door Sedan RWD4-Door Sedan XJ8
Rear Wheel DriveRear-Wheel DriveRear Wheel Drive
Passenger Capacity  
Passenger Doors  
Body Style  
4 Door Sedan4-door Sedan4-Door Sedan XJ8
Automatic w/ODAutomaticAutomatic w/OD
Detailed Spec Comparison
 2010 Mercedes-Benz CLS Class vs. 2011 INFINITI M2010 Mercedes-Benz CLS Class vs. 2008 Jaguar XJ