Go
2014 Nissan Frontier Photo
6.0
/ 10
On Green
BASE INVOICE
$17,252
BASE MSRP
$17,990
On Green
The Nissan Frontier is about as thirsty as many full-size V-6 trucks, and even the four-cylinder version doesn't save much gas.
6.0 out of 10
Shopping for a new Nissan Frontier?

GET A FREE PRICE QUOTE

GREEN | 6 out of 10

Expert Quotes:

Nissan Frontier four-cylinder: 19/23/21 mpg (manual); 17/23/19 mpg (automatic)
EPA

Nissan Frontier six-cylinder: 16/22/19 mpg (2WD manual); 16/22/18 mpg (2WD auto); 16/21/18 mpg (4WD manual); 15/21/17 (4WD auto)
EPA




The 2014 Nissan Frontier scores fairly respectably in EPA gas mileage ratings, for a pickup truck, thanks to its relatively compact size and four- and six-cylinder engine options.

The 2WD four-cylinder Frontier rates as high as 19 mpg city and 23 mpg highway for a combined rating of 21 mpg, when equipped with the five-speed manual transmission. Opting for the five-speed automatic gearbox brings those figures down to 17/23/19 mpg. With the V-6, the 2WD Frontier rates 16/22/19 mpg city/highway/combined with a six-speed manual, or 16/22/18 mpg with the five-speed automatic.

In 4WD form, the 2014 Nissan Frontier  is only available with the V-6 engine. Manual-equipped versions score 16 mpg city, 21 mpg highway, and 18 mpg combined; with the automatic, it rates 15/21/17 mpg.

Those figures make the Frontier more efficient than the Titan, but then the Titan is one of the thirstiest pickups on the road. Several full-size V-6 models in their base forms do better at the pump, and should merit consideration for the truck buyer that also covers lots of miles each year.

Conclusion

The Nissan Frontier is about as thirsty as many full-size V-6 trucks, and even the four-cylinder version doesn't save much gas.

« Prev: Features

Would You Prefer a Free Dealer Price Quote?

With competitive price quotes from multiple dealers, you will be prepared when you meet your local car dealer. Please tell us how to contact you so that dealers can compete for your business!
There are no dealers in our network that are located near the ZIP code. Please change your ZIP code or see cars for sale near you.
Update ZIP Code
2. Tell us a little bit about yourself
We are committed to your privacy. By submitting this form you agree the phone number you provided may be used to contact you (including autodialed or pre-recorded calls). Consent is not a condition of purchase.
Other Choices Read More
7.6
/ 10
TCC Rating
7.2
/ 10
TCC Rating
6.2
/ 10
TCC Rating
New Car Price Quotes
Update ZIP
We are committed to your privacy. By submitting this form you agree the phone number you provided may be used to contact you (including autodialed or pre-recorded calls). Consent is not a condition of purchase.
Related Used Listings
Browse used listings in your area

How does the
TCC Rating work?
The TCC Rating is a clear numeric rating value based on a 10-point scale that reflects the overall opinion of our automotive experts on any vehicle and rolls up ratings we give each vehicle across sub-categories you care about like performance, safety, styling and more.

Our rating also has simple color-coded “Stop” (red), “Caution” (orange),
or “Go” (green) messages along with the numerical score so you can easily understand where we stand at a glance.

Our automotive experts then also collect and show you what other websites say about these different aspects of any vehicle. We do this leg work for you to simplify your research process.

Learn more about how we rate and review cars here.

 
© 2014 The Car Connection. All Rights Reserved. The Car Connection is published by High Gear Media. Stock photography by izmo, Inc. Send us feedback.