2014 Nissan Frontier Photo
/ 10
On Green
On Green
The Nissan Frontier is about as thirsty as many full-size V-6 trucks, and even the four-cylinder version doesn't save much gas.
6.0 out of 10
Browse Nissan Frontier inventory in your area.


GREEN | 6 out of 10

Expert Quotes:

Nissan Frontier four-cylinder: 19/23/21 mpg (manual); 17/23/19 mpg (automatic)

Nissan Frontier six-cylinder: 16/22/19 mpg (2WD manual); 16/22/18 mpg (2WD auto); 16/21/18 mpg (4WD manual); 15/21/17 (4WD auto)

The 2014 Nissan Frontier scores fairly respectably in EPA gas mileage ratings, for a pickup truck, thanks to its relatively compact size and four- and six-cylinder engine options.

The 2WD four-cylinder Frontier rates as high as 19 mpg city and 23 mpg highway for a combined rating of 21 mpg, when equipped with the five-speed manual transmission. Opting for the five-speed automatic gearbox brings those figures down to 17/23/19 mpg. With the V-6, the 2WD Frontier rates 16/22/19 mpg city/highway/combined with a six-speed manual, or 16/22/18 mpg with the five-speed automatic.

In 4WD form, the 2014 Nissan Frontier  is only available with the V-6 engine. Manual-equipped versions score 16 mpg city, 21 mpg highway, and 18 mpg combined; with the automatic, it rates 15/21/17 mpg.

Those figures make the Frontier more efficient than the Titan, but then the Titan is one of the thirstiest pickups on the road. Several full-size V-6 models in their base forms do better at the pump, and should merit consideration for the truck buyer that also covers lots of miles each year.


The Nissan Frontier is about as thirsty as many full-size V-6 trucks, and even the four-cylinder version doesn't save much gas.

« Prev: Features
Other Choices Read More
/ 10
TCC Rating
/ 10
TCC Rating
/ 10
TCC Rating
Used Cars
Related Used Listings
Browse used listings in your area

How does the
TCC Rating work?
The TCC Rating is a clear numeric rating value based on a 10-point scale that reflects the overall opinion of our automotive experts on any vehicle and rolls up ratings we give each vehicle across sub-categories you care about like performance, safety, styling and more.

Our rating also has simple color-coded “Stop” (red), “Caution” (orange),
or “Go” (green) messages along with the numerical score so you can easily understand where we stand at a glance.

Our automotive experts then also collect and show you what other websites say about these different aspects of any vehicle. We do this leg work for you to simplify your research process.

Learn more about how we rate and review cars here.

© 2015 The Car Connection. All Rights Reserved. The Car Connection is published by High Gear Media. Stock photography by izmo, Inc. Read Our Cookie Policy.