2013 Mercedes-Benz CLS Class Photo
/ 10
On Safety
On Safety
The 2013 Mercedes-Benz CLS Class hasn't been crash-tested, but it does offer a long list of standard and available high-tech safety features--including some not found elsewhere.
9.0 out of 10
Browse Mercedes-Benz CLS Class inventory in your area.


SAFETY | 9 out of 10

Expert Quotes:

Not yet rated

Not yet rated

The best option by far on that long list, though, are active LED headlamps, a world first. These are the slickest all-singing, all-dancing lamps you've ever seen, with every adaptive lighting function you can imagine being provided by LEDs: they bend in turns, swivel to look ahead when you turn onto side roads, automatically dip the high beams for oncoming traffic-but only on the left side so you can still see to your right.

Active Lane Keeping Assist that vibrates the steering wheel to get a wandering driver's attention. It'll even gently drag the brakes to stop the vehicle from crossing over a road's painted lines if he or she doesn't respond.

there are new optional nannies aboard in the form of lane-departure and blind-spot correction systems.
Inside Line

Mercedes-Benz has long been regarded as a technology leader in the safety arena, and the 2013 Mercedes-Benz CLS Class doesn't disappoint this heritage. For the 2013 model year, standard safety equipment includes 10 airbags, Attention Assist driver alertness monitoring, Pre-Safe emergency brake assist and seatbelt tensioner, active head restraints, anti-lock brakes, stability control, and more.

Optional safety upgrades include all-LED active headlights, Night View Assist Plus with Pedestrian Detection, Blind Spot Assist, Lane Keeping Assist, a rear-view camera, Distronic Plus (radar-based cruise control with automatic braking), and Parktronic parking sensors with Active Park Assist.

Visibility from the front of the CLS Class is generally good, though rear-quarter visibility can be limited by the thick C-pillars. The rearview camera option and parking sensors can help mitigate this, however.

The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) and Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS) haven't crash-tested the 2013 Mercedes-Benz CLS Class, but with all of the standard and available safety features, plus Mercedes' attention to chassis engineering, buyers can drive the CLS Class with confidence.


The 2013 Mercedes-Benz CLS Class hasn't been crash-tested, but it does offer a long list of standard and available high-tech safety features--including some not found elsewhere.

« Prev: Comfort and Quality Next: Features »
Other Choices Read More
/ 10
TCC Rating
/ 10
TCC Rating
/ 10
TCC Rating
/ 10
TCC Rating
Used Cars
Related Used Listings
Browse used listings in your area

How does the
TCC Rating work?
The TCC Rating is a clear numeric rating value based on a 10-point scale that reflects the overall opinion of our automotive experts on any vehicle and rolls up ratings we give each vehicle across sub-categories you care about like performance, safety, styling and more.

Our rating also has simple color-coded “Stop” (red), “Caution” (orange),
or “Go” (green) messages along with the numerical score so you can easily understand where we stand at a glance.

Our automotive experts then also collect and show you what other websites say about these different aspects of any vehicle. We do this leg work for you to simplify your research process.

Learn more about how we rate and review cars here.

© 2015 The Car Connection. All Rights Reserved. The Car Connection is published by High Gear Media. Stock photography by izmo, Inc. Send us feedback.