Find a Car

2014 Kia Sorento Earns NHTSA Five-Star Safety Rating

The redesigned three-row, seven-passenger 2014 Kia Sorento crossover has earned a five-star safety rating from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.

The NHTSA five-star rating is the government’s highest-possible vehicle safety rating. It is determined after severe testing procedures as part of the NHTSA’s New Car Assessment Program (NCAP). Crash tests combine scores from frontal, side-impact and rollover crash tests.

The Kia Sorento, in both front-wheel drive and all-wheel drive, scored five stars in frontal, five stars in side-impact, and four stars in rollover crash tests.

Standard safety features on the Sorento include the usual complement of stability control and airbags (although the third-row seat is not covered by the curtain airbags), and also has a driver knee airbag. A rearview camera is optional on the Sorento LX and EX.

New safety options include blind-spot monitors (standard on Sorento SX) and parking sensors (optional on the base LX and standard on other trim levels).

The 2014 Kia Sorento is also a Top Safety Pick from the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS).

For more, read our complete review of the 2014 Kia Sorento.


Follow The Car Connection on FacebookTwitter and Google+.

Follow Us

Try My Showroom
Save cars, write notes, and comparison shop with hi-res photos.
Add your first car
Take Us With You!
Related Used Listings
Browse used listings in your area

© 2015 The Car Connection. All Rights Reserved. The Car Connection is published by High Gear Media. Stock photography by izmo, Inc. Read Our Cookie Policy.