Find a Car

2014 Lexus IS Earns NHTSA Five-Star Crash Rating

The redesigned 2014 Lexus IS has earned a five-star overall crash rating from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA).

The five-star overall award includes a four-star rating in front crash tests and five stars for the luxury car’s performance in side-impact and rollover tests for both rear- and all-wheel drive models.

MORE: See our 2014 Lexus IS review

The outgoing 2013 Lexus IS, in comparison, had earned a four-star overall NHTSA rating. The 2014 Lexus achieved the five-star rating as a result of stronger side-impact results for the driver.

In addition to the strikingly different exterior design, the 2014 Lexus IS features substantially increased overall body rigidity, enhanced stability control and 10 supplemental airbags standard.

For the new IS, Lexus adds several advanced new active safety features as standard equipment, including an automatic high-beam headlamp system, a lane departure alert system, a blind spot monitor with rear cross traffic alert system, and tire pressure warning system.

Optional safety equipment includes the pre-emptive Pre-Collision System, which incorporates Adaptive Cruise Control. The pre-collision system enables deceleration when the driver applies the brakes, automatically activating brake assist, which can increase braking forces under certain conditions to help the vehicle decelerate.


Follow The Car Connection on Facebook, Twitter and Google+.

Follow Us

Take Us With You!
Related Used Listings
Browse used listings in your area

© 2016 The Car Connection. All Rights Reserved. The Car Connection is published by Internet Brands Automotive Group. Stock photography by izmo, Inc. Read Our Cookie Policy.